Cooking Time – Chives Dumpling

Chinese Chives Dumpling (韭菜餃子), one of my favourite.

I always keep stock of handmade Chinese Chives Dumpling (韭菜餃子) in the freezer as it’s easy to make and it’s easy to cook too, especially when I couldn’t wake up to cook a proper meal in the morning, I’ll just go to the freezer, pop some dumpling in the pan and then tada, I’ve my lunch ready!

Kiddo always love to wrap the dumpling, so whenever I say “We’ll make dumpling today”, he will be like saying this: “Can we make dumpling now” every 10 minutes!

I loved to make the chives dumpling at home as I could add in lots of chives (as I always think that the chives dumpling sold outside doesn’t have enough chives) and I could just wrap it damn fat with lots of ingredients. Ever since I learnt how to make it, I never had it outside….


20161023_132008

Recipe was adapted from Vanessa Tay:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/singaporehomecooks/permalink/763669653702113/

Video on how to pleat the dumpling:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/singaporehomecooks/permalink/780804998655245/

I did some amendment to the recipe:
Ingredients

300g Minced Pork / 五花肉 – minced once (remember to ask for the fatty portion)
1 pack of Chinese Chives (韭菜)
pinch of  Salt / 盐
2 tsp Light Soy Sauce / 酱青
2 tsp Shaoxing Hua Tiao Chew / 花雕酒
3 tsp Sesame Oil / 麻油Q
1 pack of ready made shanghai dumpling skin (I bought from Giant)

20161023_124144


It’s simple and easy and it’s great for family bonding too.. Hahha, my pleating skill is (T-T).. I think I tried to squeeze in too much chives and pork into the dumpling..

Normally, once I’m done, I’ll lay them on a baking tray with some gaps in between and freeze them till they are frozen before I transfer all the dumpling into zip-lock bag (to save freezer space).

Yup. He insist of having his dumpling wrap like that and keep telling me how the filling is coming out of the dumping skin.. 😀

Leave a Reply

