Baking Time – Butter Cookies

I admit that I haven’t been blogging as much as I used to when the new school term start, as such, my “viewership” took a dip and went quite for weeks (well, not as if this blog if popular, but still, thanks to those who are following! I know you miss me! I’m back!)


Baking it’s definitely a great way to bond with the kids (although sometimes I do find it WAY faster to bake it ALL BY MYSELF and lesser messier without him beside me). This receipt it’s definitely a MUST TRY for beginner and also for people who loves butter cookies (like myself).

I’ve started to grow some interest in baking which I ended up getting about 3kg worth of flour just to get ready to bake some butter cookies (well, flour doesn’t just comes in small packing and this recipe asked for 3 different type of flour + butter). Initially, I wanted to bake egg tart, so I went to Poon Huat with that mindset that “Yeah man! I’m going to get the egg tart ingredients!”, but after some thoughts and knowing that egg tart doesn’t taste nice keeping overnight (can’t bring it to work for my colleagues) then I though of baking pound cake, but after much thoughts and googling, I’ve then finalize on baking BUTTER COOKIES.

The butter cookie was adapted from Miss Tiam Chiak (a mimic of Jenny Bakery – the famous melt-in-the mouth cookie, although I never taste it before).

http://www.misstamchiak.com/recipe-ultimate-butter-cookies/ 

So with all the ingredients prepared, we’re ready! The recipe could yield about 60 cookies. I haven’t been baking of a while so you keep seeing me looking at the book! Hahhaa.. (Oh yah, remember, the butter as what Miss Tam Chiak mentioned, you should use Golden Churn brand. I bought the block one instead of the tin version and the butter came out the same, just that it’s not that watery and easier to manage – IMO (In My Opinion).. I’m going to try using other brand of butter next time as Golden Churn it’s expansive! That one block cost me $5.10! )

Then you have the kid which will help you in ALMOST everything! Hahahaaha..

& that’s how the cookie looks before it’s in the oven -> after -> in the air-tight container..

1476717822070

And that’s what left of today! Well, the butter cookie it’s popular among my colleague and parents and they mentioned that the texture is nice! Can’t wait to try it again using another butter to see if it’s really the butter that contribute to the melt-in-the mouth kind of texture or? 😀

Till then, I’ll make non-baked oreo cheesecake soon!

Leave a Reply

