Singapore Night Festival 2016!

CIMG0863

Well, before I continue, I apologised for the late post for Singapore Night Festival 2016 as it’s already OVER!

Singapore Night Festival always happened after National Day, as it’s held over 2 weekends, 19-21st August 2016 and 26-28th August 2016 from 7:30PM to 2:00AM at Bras Basah & Bugis area. This year’s theme was “Inventions and Innovation”.

You could check out more via the website: http://nightfest.sg/

From the website, I got to know that this year was the 9th edition already (Wow, I didn’t even know it as I’ve only got to know about the night festival when I’m with him and it’s our 2nd night festival after being together for 775 days! We skipped the previous year as I was “lazy” to go.. >.< )

Usually, our night festival comes together with staycation as we’ll need to stay out late (It’s more of a good excuse for a staycation!) This time round, we went Amara Hotel @ Tanjong Pagar for staycation, good experience as the room was huge so the kiddo could roam around and there’s bath-tub where he could play water in it (as we didn’t head down to the pool as it’s still the 7th month)

Well, with kid tagging along, we didn’t really explore too much, we usually just hang around the Singapore National Musuem (SNM) area where we’ll see the performance and some exhibits then followed by some night market around the SMU area and also listening to the bands playing and some display over at the Singapore Art Musuem! 😀 There’s some other exhibitions/activities over at the Peranakan Musuem but I didn’t walk there (my leg hurts from all the long walks. Hahaha, lazy!)

As this year’s theme was “Inventions and Innovation”, you could see things that are related to that theme, futurism, LED lights and more.. At the facade of the SNM was the works by GROUPE LAPS (FR)

Through micro-stories weaved upon the stately National Museum of Singapore façade, KEYFRAMES offers narration in the city – urban stories where bodies and their movements play main roles.

Part animation and part moving sculpture, the LED figures and their routine imbue static buildings with energy and excitement. This new installation – part of the KEYFRAMES series – brings glimmers of the past to life.

Inside the museum, you could find that “exhibition” where you could step on the stationary bike then cycle it to “generate” the power to light up the exhibit! (It’s that cool? Solar Energy!)

We managed to catch the performance just outside the NSM! Well, felt that this time, the performer engaged with the public which brings the whole performance up to another level! (Hahaha, as usual, my kiddo is scare and keep covering his ears wanting to go).

I still couldn’t catch the whole performance, it’s something about invasion.. Hahha, I left there not knowing whats the ending is about too.. T-T

Apologised for my lack of photos as I was walking alot and SEE-ing alot, just that I didn’t keep snapping as much as I walk as it’s really crowded and I’ve hold my kiddo hand and Mr hand or look out for Mr else I’ll get lost (I can’t really focus and gets giddy at crowded areas).

We then head over to SMU for the night market and also some snack bites and then catch one of the wall mural display show at SAM (Singapore Art Museum) and we head back to the hotel and called it a night!

Till then, the tenth edition of Singapore Night Festival 2017! I can’t wait!

 

Leave a Reply

